Cities for CEDAW

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) was adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly. CEDAW is known by many as an international bill of rights for women. CEDAW defines and describes what discrimination against women is and sets up an agenda for action to end this type of discrimination. The United States is one of the only countries in the world that has not ratified CEDAW. Therefore, we have cities for CEDAW. Different cities and counties around the country have been working to pass resolutions and ordinances to help create stronger rules and regulations when it comes to discrimination and violence against women. Fordham MSW intern, Kristen, is currently gathering data from different cities on where they are in relation to implementing CEDAW in their cities. Some of these cities are San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Jose, Long Beach, Cincinnati, Durham, Kansas City, Boulder, Louisville, Rapid City, Pittsburgh, and New York City. She is creating a report with all of the updates from each city that will be presented at the CEDAW meeting in New York City on March 14th.

Learn more here: http://citiesforcedaw.org/